

የኢትዮጵያ ሰብአዊ *መ*ብቶች ጉባዔ ETHIOPIAN HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL

ኢሰመጉ የቆመው ለዲሞክራሲ፣ ለሕግ ልዕልናና ለሰብአዊ መብቶች መከበር ነው። EHRCO stands for democracy, the rule of law and the respect of human rights.

101st Special Report

June 8, 2007

EHRCO Condemns Attacks Perpetrated against Innocent Civilians!

Introduction

The Ethiopian Human Rights Council (EHRCO) has utterly denounced the various attacks that took place at various times. It has also been calling for the perpetrators of the attacks to be brought to justice, the provision of commensurate compensation for the victims of the attacks and for the government to provide citizens with appropriate protection as well as to find lasting solutions to problems.

In this 101st Special Report, EHRCO makes a detailed account of the civilian causalities that occurred as a result of the bombing attacks on May 10, 2007 at a Bazaar program staged in Meqet Woreda, Flaqit town located in Northern Wollo, Amhara Regional State and in Jijiga and Degahabour towns of the Somali Regional State on May 28, 2007.

Details

A. Damages Caused by the Bomb Attack in Flaqit Town, Northern Wollo Zone, Amhara Regional State

The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, to which Ethiopia is a party, stipulates in article 6(1) that every one has a natural right to life. The FDRE Constitution also guarantees this natural right to life in article 15. In addition, the FDRE Constitution in article 16 stipulates, "everyone has the right to protection against bodily harm" which also states in article 14 that this right is inviolable and inalienable.

However, in contravention to these constitutional rights to life and protection against bodily harm, the following individuals were killed or otherwise wounded as a result of bomb attack that took place on May 10, 2007 at 8:10 p.m. at a Bazaar program staged in Meqet Woreda, Flaqit town located in Northern Wollo Administrative zone.

No	Name	Age	Occupation	Address
1	Meseret Keffe	10	Student	Meqet Woreda, Flaqit Town
2	Ayenew Feseha	14	"	11
3	Endalkachew Mamo	18	"	"
4	Tesfa Assefe	18	"	11
5	Belete Alemu		Member of the	11
			Police force	
6	Nibret Dagent		Farmer	"
7	Solomon Bekele		"	"

List of individuals killed by the bomb attack

List of individuals wounded by the bomb attack

1	Asamin Gera Work	Resident of Flaqit Town and Deputy
		administrator of the Woreda
2	Gedam Tamire	Member of the police force

B. Damage Caused by the Bombing Attack at Jijiga Stadium, Somali Regional State

In contravention to the inalienable rights of persons to life and protection against bodily harm, the following individuals were killed or wounded as a result of the bombing attack that took place on May 28, 2007 at about 9:00 a.m. targeting civilians gathered at the town's stadium to mark the 16th anniversary of the demise of the "Derg" regime.

No	Name	Details
1	Hibo Abdulkadir	18, member of the police band
2	Abdi Beker	Member of the police band
3	Adel Ibrahim Ali	Member of the police band
4	Ahmed Seid	Journalist
5	Kalid Muhamed Abdi	Journalist
6	Yenub Abdi Abdullahi	17 years old resident of Jijiga Town, Kebele 03.

List of individuals wounded by the bomb attack

No	Name	Age	Details
1	Abdullahi Hassan		He is the president of the Regional
			State. He sustained injury on the leg.
2	Alem Taye	25	A journalist, wounded on the legs.
3	Mehadi Abdi Shekh	16	Wounded on both legs
	Mohammed		
4	Muhayedin Mohammed	30	A teacher, sustained injury on the
			head and both hands
5	Ahmed Abdi Abdullahi	12	Had both legs amputated as a result
			of the bomb attack
6	Ahmed Abdi	25	Is a rural development worker. He
			sustained injury on the abdomen and
			his face
7	Umar Abdullahi	53	Member of the police force, wounded
			on the leg
8	Guled Mohammed	15	Wounded on both legs
9	Abdul Nassar Mohammed	16	Wounded on the buttocks
10	Ali Hussein Abdullahi		Wounded on the leg
11	Solomon Shiferaw		A journalist, wounded on the right leg
12	Abdi Sherif Abdullhai	28	Wounded on the chest
	Umar		
13	Mohammed Ahmed	28	Wounded on the waist
14	Muktar Mohammed	27	Wounded on the left leg
15	Abdufatah Abdullhai	33	Wounded by the bomb attack
16	Semira Ali	38	A journalist ,wounded on her stomach
17	Mesfin Wolde		A journalist wounded by the bomb
			attack
18	Saida Ahamed	15	Wounded on the right leg
19	Ayisha Mohammed	20	Wounded on the right hand
20	Fatuma Mohammed	45	Wounded on the leg
21	Selamawit Teshome		A member of the police force
			wounded on the neck

C. Damage Caused by the Bomb Attack in Degahabour Town, Somali Regional State

No	Name	Age	Details
1	Kedir Ali	17	Wounded on the leg and the stomach
2	Kemal Mohammed	18	Wounded on the leg and forehead
3	Leyila Mohammed Sherif	19	A teacher who is wounded on the leg and
			the head
4	Amina Sherif	25	Wounded on the both legs
5	Abdurazak Shek Abdi	18	Wounded on the chest
6	Ahmed Abdi	19	Wounded on the stomach, forehead and
			both legs
7	Muktar Mohammed	30	wounded on the leg
8	Abdullahi Abdi	38	Wounded on various spots

No	Name	Age	Details
9	Teyis Abdullahi	30	Wounded by the bomb attack
10	Ramha Sheik Mehammed	20	A teacher who is wounded on the leg and the limbs

Conclusion

As indicated above in detail, many civilians lost their lives and sustained bodily harm as a result of the atrocious bomb attacks unleashed against them. EHRCO vehemently condemns such dreadful assaults as a sheer terrorist attack that can be justified on no ground. Such acts of terror are becoming a pattern which is of a matter of serious concern for EHRCO. It therefore calls on the Government:

- to expeditiously bring the perpetrators to justice and provide protection to civilians so that they will not be exposed to attacks of similar nature in the future; and
- to find durable solutions to the problems so that similar attacks will not be committed in the future again.

In addition, EHRCO calls on citizens, national and international organizations, representatives of governments and international groups that stand for the respect of human rights and the rule of law to strongly denounce these attacks, and help ensure the respect for human rights in Ethiopia as enshrined in the country's Constitution.

- H.E. Ambassador Teshome Toga
 Speaker, House of People's Representatives, FDRE
 P. O. Box: 80001, Fax: (251-1)1 55 0900, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Degafe Bula Speaker, House of Federation, FDRE P. O. Box: 80001, Fax: (251-1)1 55 0722, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Girma Woledegiorgis President, FDRE
 P. O. Box: 1031, Fax: (251-1)1 55 2020, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Meles Zenawi Prime Minister, FDRE
 P. O. Box: 1031, Fax: (251-1)1 55 2020, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Siraj Feregesa Minister of Federal Affairs, FDRE.
 P. O. Box: 1370, Fax: (251-1)15 52 0000, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

- H.E. Ato Assefa Kesito Minister of Justice, FDRE
 P. O. Box: 1370, Fax: (251-1)15 52 0874, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Dr. Mohammed Yasin
 Speaker, Oromia National Regional State Council
 P. O. Box: 101769, Fax: (251-1)5 513642, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Fikru Nakal Speaker, Southern Nations, Nationalities and People's Regional State Council P. O. Box: 18, Fax: (251-1)046 220 1950, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ambassador Kassa G/Hiwot Commissioner, Ethiopian Human Rights Commission P.o.Box: 1165, Fax: (251-1)6 45 9290, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
- H.E. Ato Abay Tekle Ombudsman, FDRE
 P. O. Box: 2459, Fax: (251-1)6 45 9229, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.